How I got addicted to fly fishing

About three years ago, I was introduced to fly fishing, and I have been addicted since. How did this addiction come about, you ask? I have always loved the outdoors, so automatically I’m a fisherman at heart. I usually always used a spinner rod or a bait caster when going fishing, though.

One afternoon during the Summer, a couple of my friends invited me to go fishing with them, and they were inviting a guy that I had never met before; his name was Clay. Clay used a fly rod that day, and I was so intrigued by how it looked like it felt when there was a fish on the end of his line, so I went to Cabela’s and bought myself a beginner fly rod setup that next weekend.

It was actually extremely difficult for me to use my new fly rod, and I was really discouraged because I had spent a couple hundred dollars on it, and Clay made it look so easy when I saw him use it. I wasn’t casting the same as he was, and I definitely wasn’t catching any fish. It was making me feel really bummed out. I would cast in my front yard, then go to the water and catch nothing day after day, so I was extremely disappointed that I has spent so much money on something that I was horrible at. So, how am I obsessed with this sport if I was so bad at it?

After about three weeks of failure using this fly rod, I finally decided that I was going to stop feeling bad for myself. I woke up extremely early on a Monday morning (skipping my college classes that day- this just shows how dedicated I was to catching a fish), and went to Nolan Creek right in Belton. I told myself that I was not going to leave until I taught myself how to catch a fish on this rod. Let me tell you, I spent hours in the water….

After about five hours of getting caught on the trees and catching sticks, I finally caught a fish. It was a largemouth bass and I caught it on a baitfish pattern. I cannot even explain to you how rewarding it was to finally catch a fish. Even though it was small enough to fit in the palm of my hand, that fish made me so happy.

The feeling that I got when fighting that fish on my fly rod was so awesome, and that’s what got me addicted. Catching fish is cool any way, but catching even the smallest fish on a fly rod is 100x cooler on a fly rod. If that itty-bitty fish made me happy, imagine how excited larger fish make me!

IMG_0116.JPGI hope that each and every one of you can find something that makes you as happy as catching fish on a fly rod makes me!

 

4 thoughts on “How I got addicted to fly fishing

  1. I have always wanted to fly fish but just have never gotten the opportunity to. I love just regular fishing so I feel like I would enjoy fly fishing also. All the places you go seem so interesting and neat.

    Like

  2. Your story reminds me of a part in the book Seven Days at the Links of Utopia by David Cook. This part was translated into a scene in the movie as well. Two of the key virtues main character Luke Chisholm has to learn are patience and perseverance, which he is taught by learning how to fly fish. I think it is really neat that this is a talent you have learned how to do, and that even though it is hard you kept pushing yourself to achieve something that meant a lot to you. After seeing the scene in the movie I figured it couldn’t be that hard, but after reading your post, I realize that it probably is a lot more difficult than I thought! I applaud you for taking time to master such a difficult skill. Keep it up!

    Like

  3. Jesika,

    I’m glad you got to find something that seems so exciting and interesting. Although I don’t fish a lot, I love to hunt whitetail deer and other Texas game. Whether its fishing, hunting or hiking, you just can’t beat the outdoors!

    Like

  4. I think your story somewhat resembles my first experience fly fishing. I also love the outdoors myself. The first time my dad took me fly fishing it was so much different than a regular rod and reel. I think the reason I liked it so much is because to get good at it, you simply have to practice multiple times. It was difficult for me at first but now I can go out with him and fish just like its a normal rod. Congrats on your first fish you caught! I know you experienced hours of difficult casts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

