Sharing my Passion with Younger Generations

There are countless reasons that I fly fish. These reasons vary from travel experiences and adventures to catching the actual fish on my fly rod. But a really important part of fly fishing to me is being able to share the sport with kids.

I believe that deep down we all have a certain group of people that we enjoy assisting. To some it may be elderly, to others it may be handicapped- to me, its kids. The love and passion that I have for the outdoors is so strong and being able to possibly have a positive effect on one child’s life through fly fishing makes it even more enjoyable for me (I didn’t now that could even happen.

I am blessed in the way that I have a huge family full of kids. And I mean lots of kids! I try to fish with all of them, but one specific kiddo in my family enjoys fishing the way that I do. Her name is Peyton. She can toss a fly, fight a fish and net it on her own at just 11 years old. Peyton hasn’t always been that into it, but this past year she has grown to love the sport so much and I couldn’t be more proud!

peyti.jpg

Seeing the smile on her face when she feels a fish fighting on the end of her line makes my heart fill with joy and it’s honestly one of the best feelings that I have ever felt! Knowing that I taught her how to do that and seeing the happiness that takes place is priceless.

I plan to use my passion for this sport to work in the fly fishing industry and get all kids outdoors and fill those little hands with fly rods!

4 thoughts on “Sharing my Passion with Younger Generations

  1. It’s so great that you take such an interest in teaching kids how to learn this skill. I personally have never gotten into fishing of any kind, but I am all for being outside. Good to know some kids still love the outdoors!

    Like

  2. I have always wanted to try fly fishing because of the increased difficulty and it is definitely on my bucket list. It is so refreshing to see your passion and willingness to share this activity with others. I hope you can reach many people with this. Happy Fishing!

    Like

  3. I think it is absolutely wonderful that you enjoy fly fishing so much! I have had a few friends throughout the years that enjoy fly fishing. I know that it takes quite a bit of skill and practice, so the fact that you were able to teach a young person to fly fish so well is very impressive. I wish you all the best with your career!

    Like

Leave a Reply

